Events Archive - 2013

Sunday, January 13, 2013

Grand Forks, North Dakota
North Dakota Museum of Art
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Ensembles:  Ethel 

Monday, January 14, 2013

Grand Forks, North Dakota
Mayville State University
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Ensembles:  Ethel 

Saturday, January 19, 2013

Saturday, January 26, 2013

Fairfield, Connecticut
Fairfield University
Quick Center for the Arts
200 Barlow Road, Fairfield, Connecticut   map
works being performed: Gene Takes a Drink, unused swan, Reeling
Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 

Sunday, January 27, 2013

Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - Saturday, February 2, 2013

Lyon, France
Les Subsistance -- Aire de Jeu
Lyon, France
works being performed: Dig Deep, Lad, Stronghold
Ensembles:  Maud Le Pladec 

Wednesday, January 30, 2013

Saturday, February 2, 2013

Thursday, February 7, 2013

Evanston, Illinois
Northwestern University
Pick-Staiger Hall
50 Arts Cir Dr., Evanston, Illinois   map
Ensembles:  Northwestern University 
Conductors:  Tim Robblee 

Monday, February 11, 2013

Rochester, New York
Eastman School of Music
Kilbourn Hall
Rochester, New York
Ensembles:  Eastman School of Music 
Conductors:  Brad Lubman 

Thursday, February 21, 2013

Friday, February 22, 2013 - Sunday, February 24, 2013

New York, New York
92Y
Buttenwieser Hall
1395 Lexington Avenue, New York, New York   map
work being performed: Cruel Sister
Ensembles:  Doug Varone and Dancers 

Thursday, February 28, 2013 - Friday, March 1, 2013

Portland, Oregon
Third Angle
Alberta Rose Theatre
3000 NE Alberta St, Portland, Oregon   map
Ensembles:  Third Angle 

Thursday, March 7, 2013

Los Angeles, California
USC Thornton School of Music
Los Angeles, California
works being performed: Acid Rain, increase, Arsenal of Democracy

Thursday, March 14, 2013

Friday, April 12, 2013

Tuesday, April 16, 2013

Friday, April 19, 2013

Saturday, April 20, 2013

Saturday, April 27, 2013

Tuesday, May 7, 2013

Brooklyn, New York
* World premiere
Brooklyn Youth Chorus
Roulette
509 Atlantic Avenue, Brooklyn, New York   map
work being performed: You breathe
Ensembles:  Brooklyn Youth Chorus 

Thursday, May 9, 2013

Brugges, Belgium
* Belgium premiere
Concertgebouw Brugges
Brugges, Belgium
work being performed: Steel Hammer
Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 
Soloists:  Trio Mediaeval 

Saturday, May 11, 2013

Monday, May 13, 2013

Uppsala, Sweden
* Sweden premiere
Uppsala Konsert Kongress
Uppsala, Sweden
work being performed: Steel Hammer
Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 
Soloists:  Trio Mediaeval 

Wednesday, May 15, 2013

Friday, May 17, 2013

Reykjavik, Iceland
* Iceland premiere
Reykjavik Arts Festival
Reykjavik, Iceland
works being performed: Gene Takes a Drink, unused swan, Reeling
Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 
Soloists:  Trio Mediaeval 

Saturday, May 18, 2013

Beijing, China
* China premiere
Beijing Modern Music Festival
China National Center for the Performing Arts
Beijing, China

Bang on a Can brings its polyrhythmic virtuosity and all-world versatility to the Beijing Modern Music Festival, celebrating the breadth of the genre-busting Bang on a Can sound with two boundary bending programs of music by co-founders and artistic directors Michael Gordon, David Lang, and Julia Wolfe

Performed by the Bang on a Can Festival Ensemble, a veritable who’s who roster of cutting-edge performers on the New York new music scene from the annual Bang on a Can Summer Festival @ MASS MoCA, the first concert on May 18 features the Festival Ensemble joining forces with the Shenzhen Symphony Orchestra for David Lang's pierced, Michael Gordon's Rewriting Beethoven's Seventh Symphony, and a world premiere arrangement of Julia Wolfe's Big Beautiful Dark and Scary for six soloists and orchestra. 

Sunday, May 19, 2013

Monday, May 20, 2013

Beijing, China
Beijing Modern Music Festival
Central Conservatory of Music
Beijing, China

Bang on a Can brings its polyrhythmic virtuosity and all-world versatility to the Beijing Modern Music Festival, celebrating the breadth of the genre-busting Bang on a Can sound with two boundary bending programs of music by co-founders and artistic directors Michael Gordon, David Lang, and Julia Wolfe

Performed by the Bang on a Can Festival Ensemble, a veritable who’s who roster of cutting-edge performers on the New York new music scene from the annual Bang on a Can Summer Festival @ MASS MoCA, the second concert on May 20 is an explosive program of chamber works: on the bill is Julia Wolfe's Girlfriend, David Lang's sweet air andthese broken wings, Michael Gordon's ACDC and Light Is Calling, and Ping Jin's A Shanty.

Sunday, June 2, 2013

Thursday, June 6, 2013

Wednesday, June 12, 2013

Friday, June 14, 2013

Amsterdam, Netherlands
Holland Festival
Muziekgebouw aan't IJ
Amsterdam, Netherlands
work being performed: Fuel

Sunday, June 16, 2013

New York, New York
Bang on a Can
Pace University
New York, New York
work being performed: With a blue dress on
Soloists:  Monica Germino 

Saturday, July 13, 2013

New York, New York
Rite of Summer
Governor's Island
New York, New York
works being performed: Industry, sunray, Lick

 

The Bang on a Can All-Stars celebrate the season in two FREE outdoor* concerts on Governors Island Colonels Row (1pm & 3pm) 

Steve Reich: Electric Counterpoint
Michael Gordon: Industry
David Lang: sunray
Julia Wolfe: Lick
Thurston Moore: Stroking Piece #1
Louis Andriessen: Workers Union

More information here

Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 

Saturday, July 27, 2013

North Adams, Massachusetts
Bang on a Can
MASS MoCA
North Adams, Massachusetts
work being performed: Steel Hammer

On July 27, the Massachussetts Museum of Contemporary Art and Bang on a Can present Julia Wolfe’s mesmerizing evening-length art ballad Steel Hammer as part of the Bang on a Can Summer Festival.

The work is inspired by her love for the legends and music of Appalachia, and culls from both the music and oral traditions of the region. The text is taken from over 200 versions of the John Henry ballad – based on hearsay, recollection, and tall tales – and explores the subject of human vs. machine in this quintessential American legend. Steel Hammer stretches the standard instrumentation of Bang on a Can All-Stars with wooden bones, mountain dulcimer, banjo, and more, to evoke the rich instrumental colors of Appalachia. The New York Times calls it a “wild hybrid” and an “obsessive study of the song’s many versions.”

Wolfe writes:

Steel Hammer was inspired by my love for the legends and music of Appalachia. The text was culled from the over 200 versions of the John Henry ballad. The various versions, based on hearsay, recollection, and tall tales, explore the subject of human vs. machine in the quintessential American legend. Many of the facts are unclear - some say he's from West Virginia - some say he's from South Carolina - some say he's from New Jersey...But regardless of the details, John Henry, wielding a steel hammer, faces the onslaught of the industrial age as his super human strength is challenged in a contest to out dig an engine.

I drew upon the extreme variations of the story, fragmenting and weaving the contradictory versions of the ballad that have circulated since the late 1800s into a new whole - at times meditating on single words or phrases - in order to tell the story of the story - to embody the simultaneous diverse paths it traveled. The Bang on a Can All-Stars add a chorus of instruments including mountain dulcimer, wooden bones, banjo, harmonica, and body percussion.

Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 

Saturday, August 3, 2013

North Adams, Massachusetts
Bang on a Can
MASS MoCA
North Adams, Massachusetts
work being performed: Fuel
Ensembles:  Bang On A Can Festival 

Friday, August 23, 2013

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Edinburgh Festival
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
works being performed: Gene Takes a Drink, unused swan, Reeling
Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 

Tuesday, September 17, 2013

Krakow, Poland
* Poland premiere
Scarum Profanum
Krakow, Poland
works being performed: Gene Takes a Drink, unused swan, Reeling
Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 

Thursday, September 19, 2013

Poleymieux au Mont d'Or, France
Poleymieux au Mont d'Or, France
work being performed: East Broadway
Soloists:  Orianne Milliery 

Thursday, September 26, 2013

Nantes, France
Le Lieu Unique
Le Lieu Unique
Nantes, France
Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 

Friday, September 27, 2013

Metz, France
l'Arsenal de Metz
l'Arsenal de Metz
Metz, France
Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 

Saturday, September 28, 2013

Paris, France
La Dynamo
La Dynamo
Paris, France
works being performed: sunray, Lick, for Madeline
Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 

Thursday, October 10, 2013

New York
New York Live Arts
219 W 19th Street, New York   map
work being performed: Dig Deep

Julia Wolfe’s music is distinguished by an intense physicality and a relentless power that pushes performers to extremes and demands attention from the audience. Dig Deep, Wolfe’s iconic composition for string quartet, generates an intense sonic movement. In his response to the composition, Israeli choreographer and dancer Arkadi Zaides focuses on a state of ongoing oscillation, offering the audience a kinesthetic, non-narrative practice, examining the tension between restlessness and stability in his body. By zeroing in on this tension, Zaides wishes to ‘dig deep’ and unearth a somatic response to personal experiences of immigration, homelessness and in-betweenness. 

The music will be performed live by the Quatuor Leonis (France). The performance will be followed by a Q&A with the artists and Julia Wolfe

Ensembles:  Quatuor Leonis 

Tuesday, October 15, 2013

Hamburg, Germany
Fabrik Der Künste
Hamburg, Germany
work being performed: East Broadway

Saturday, October 19, 2013

Bern, Switzerland
Konzert Theater Bern
Konzert Theater Bern
Bern, Switzerland
work being performed: Fuel

Friday, October 25, 2013

New York, New York
Carnegie Hall
Zankel
881 7th Ave, New York, New York   map
work being performed: Fuel
Conductors:  Robert Spano 

Friday, November 1, 2013 - Saturday, November 2, 2013

Cincinnati, Ohio
Contemporary Dance Theater
Aronoff Center for the Arts
Cincinnati, Ohio
work being performed: Cruel Sister
Collaborators:  Doug Varone, choreographer 

Wednesday, November 6, 2013

Istanbul, Turkey
Borusan Culture and Arts
Borusan Culture and Arts
Istanbul, Turkey
works being performed: sunray, for Madeline, Lick
Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 

Friday, November 8, 2013

Amsterdam, Netherlands
Muziekgebouw
Muziekgebouw
Amsterdam, Netherlands
works being performed: Gene Takes a Drink, unused swan, Reeling
Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 

Sunday, November 10, 2013

Essen, Germany
Piranha Kultur
C3 Club Contemporary Classical
Essen, Germany
work being performed: Believing
Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 

Tuesday, November 26, 2013

Friday, November 29, 2013

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Ciclo de Conciertos Contemporanea
Casacuberta
Buenos Aires, Argentina
works being performed: Gene Takes a Drink, unused swan, Reeling
Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 

Saturday, November 30, 2013

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Ciclo de Conciertos Contemporanea
Art Usina
Buenos Aires, Argentina
work being performed: Believing
Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 

Sunday, December 8, 2013

Chicago, Illinois
Links Hall
Constellation
3111 N. Western, Chicago, Illinois   map
work being performed: Dark Full Ride
Ensembles:  Third Coast Percussion 

Friday, December 13, 2013

Detroit, Michigan
Detroit Institute of Art
5200 Woodward Avenue, Detroit, Michigan   map
work being performed: my lips from speaking
Ensembles:  Grand Band 

Tuesday, December 17, 2013

Los Angeles, California
Tuesdays at Monkspace
Monkspace
4414 W 2nd St, Los Angeles, California   map
work being performed: Four Marys
Ensembles:  Eclipse Quartet